Congratulations to our Spring 2019 Graduates!

We wish to congratulate all of the students graduating with their Masters and Doctoral degrees this spring. All of the students listed below have completed the requirements for their degrees. We wish them the best of luck in their next endeavors!

PhD Degree Recipients
Fred Boehm, PhD in Statistics - co-advisors Professor Karl Broman and Professor Brian Yandell
Sid Kiblawi, PhD in Computer Science - advisor Professor Mark Craven
Ross Kleiman, PhD in Computer Science - advisor Professor David Page
Yifeng Liu, PhD in Statistics - advisor Professor Menggang Yu
Christine McWilliams, PhD in Epidemiology - co-advisors Professor Ron Gangnon and Associate Professor Paul Peppard
Ting Ye, PhD in Statistics - advisor Professor Menggang Yu
Yanyao Yi, PhD in Statistics - advisor Professor Menggang Yu and Professor Jun Shao

MS Degree Recipients
Courtney Blomme, MS in Population Health - advisor Professor Ron Gangnon
Jon Ide, MS in Biomedical Data Science - advisor Associate Professor Sushmita Roy
Viswesh Periyasamy, MS in Computer Science (thesis option) - advisor Associate Professor Sushmita Roy
Lin Qi, MS in Biomedical Data Science - advisor Assistant Professor Irene Ong. Lin will continue in the Biomedical Data Science PhD Program
Yunyang Xiong, MS in Biomedical Data Science - advisor Professor Vikas Singh. Yunyang will continue in the Computer Science PhD Program

Bob Bailey leaving for Colorado

We are sad to announce that Bob Bailey's last day in the department is today, Friday, May 3. He and his spouse are moving to Colorado, where she just landed her dream job.

We wish both of them the best of luck with their futures and will miss Bob's professionalism, expertise, and kindness.

Please wish Bob the best on his future endeavors.

Cathy Goelzer returns to BMI

We are delighted that Cathy Goelzer has chosen to return to the department as a program manager. She will be working at MSC and providing cradle-to-grave research administration support to faculty and research staff. She will be in the office full time beginning June 1.

Please stop by and welcome Cathy!

Molly Mitchell and Kaitlin Woo leave for other opportunities

Molly Mitchell, program manager for our Biostatistics research area, and Kaitlin Woo, biostatistician, are both leaving the department to pursue other opportunities. We are sad to lose them, and wish them the absolute best in their new adventures.

Molly is moving to the Wisconsin Center for Education Research in the School of Education at UW-Madison, and Kaitlin is moving to the east coast with her spouse.

Thank you to both Molly and Kaitlin for their contributions to the department.

Bret Hanlon, PhD, joins Statistical Data Analysis Center

Dr. Bret Hanlon joined the Statistical Data Analysis Center as Associate Scientist. He will work with the SDAC scientists and staff to provide arms-length data analysis to the Data Monitoring Committees (DMCs) for pharmaceutical company-funded clinical trials. He will also continue his collaborations with researchers in the Department of Surgery.

Welcome, Bret! We are happy to have you in the department.

New Student Services Coordinator, Shelley Maxted, Joins Department

We are excited that Shelley Maxted chose to join the Department in the role of Student Services Coordinator. She takes over from Whitney Sweeney, who has moved on to an administrative role in the Data Science Hub.

Welcome to Shelley! Please stop by to say hello and welcome her to the Department.

Eneida Mendonca and Umberto Tachinardi move to Indiana University

We are both saddened and pleased that Eneida Mendonca and Umberto Tachinardi have taken senior leadership posts at Indiana University effective April 1. We thank them for their generous contributions to the Department of Biostatistics & Medical Informatics, the School of Medicine & Public Health, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison during their time here.

We wish them success in their new roles.

Assistant Professor Lu Mao Wins Travel Award

Assistant Professor Lu Mao won the IMS New Researcher Travel Award to attend the WNAR/IMS/JR annual meeting for his submission titled "When Wilcoxon-Mann-Whitney meets non-compliance." In addition to receiving the travel award, Dr. Lu will be highlighted in the IMS Bulletin, and named and honored in person at the IMS Awards Ceremony and Presidential Address at the Joint Statistical MEetings/IMS Annual Meeting in Denver in July.

Congratulations to Dr. Mao for winning this award!

Assistant Professor Andreas Velten receives NSF Career Award

Assistant Professor Andreas Velten has received a 5-year National Science Foundation CAREER award titled "A Computational Hyperspectral Fluorescence Lifetime Camera."

Congratulations to Dr. Velten and his group!

Professor Vikas Singh Awarded National Institute on Aging Grant

Professor Vikas Singh, in collaboration with Professor Barbara Bendlin, has been awarded a $1.25M grant by the National Institute on Aging to study Alzheimers' Disease. The 5-year grant is titled "Algebraic Formulations for characterizing Structural Brain Connectivity Changes and Pathology Transmission Networks in Preclinical Alzheimer's Disease."

Congratulations to Drs. Singh and Bendlin on your success!